Apex Downtown

Apex, North Carolina, United States

#10000008
Location Image 1
Location Image 2
Location Image 3
Location Image 4
Location Image 5

Settled in the 1860s and incorporated in 1873—was one of the earliest new towns to develop around the state capital of Raleigh, as railroads traversed the county after the Civil War. The name "Apex" was adopted because the community was the highest point on the Chatham Railroad between Richmond and Jacksonville, Florida. The current town motto—"Apex, the Peak of Good Living" not only captures the name's historical significance, but refers to the fact that in places along the town's main street (Salem Street), water which falls on one side of the street flows to the Neuse River, and on the other side it flows to the Cape Fear River. The Apex downtown district reflects the town's rich historical beginning and is highlighted by the landmark 1914 Apex Union Depot. The Depot has been restored to its original glory and now houses the offices of the Apex Chamber of Commerce, a Visitors’ Center and meeting room. Visitors enjoy the rich woodwork, double fireplace, ticket windows of the stationmaster’s office, and the old switchmen’s lanterns. The building is on the National Register of Historic Places and is open weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

County
Wake
Region
Research Triangle Region
Location

Apex, North Carolina, United States